M4 Magazine Extension; need new magazine spring?

Rick44

In interest of reliability, is anyone using or offering for sale a longer magazine spring to work with the extended magazines on the M4? Is it necessary?

I'm having feeding problems with a brand new M4 and am wondering if it may be that the magazine spring is too weak after installing a magazine extension.

Any help or comments would be most appreciated.

Thanks!

• 3 weeks later...

I am relatively new to the M4, but now I am even more confused.

Mine is a California bought model. It holds 3 in the tube and one in the chamber. I see that Dadams sells extensions to hold 7, using the factory spring.

However, the above posts refer to the extension adding 2 rounds, and can use the factory spring. So, the means you guys are having your models hold 5 rounds from the factory?

What all do I have to do to make a CA model 7 rounds?

I am relatively new to the M4, but now I am even more confused.

Mine is a California bought model. It holds 3 in the tube and one in the chamber. I see that Dadams sells extensions to hold 7, using the factory spring.

However, the above posts refer to the extension adding 2 rounds, and can use the factory spring. So, the means you guys are having your models hold 5 rounds from the factory?

What all do I have to do to make a CA model 7 rounds?

Call Benelli and ask if your magazine spring is the same as the five round models. If so just order a seven round magazine tube. If not, order the correct spring from Benelli. It won't cost much. You can then order a seven round tube and you will be fine.

• 3 weeks later...