Which choke for buckshot? - M2

RedM2

I have the M2 and I was wondering which choke would work best for buckshot? Someone mentioned that I might want to use a full choke... I've never used buckshot before, only slugs, so I don't know the first thing about buckshot.

Any help is much appreciated!

I have the M2 and I was wondering which choke would work best for buckshot? Someone mentioned that I might want to use a full choke... I've never used buckshot before, only slugs, so I don't know the first thing about buckshot.

Any help is much appreciated!

start with cylinder and work your way forward.

I use a Kicks Industries Buckkicker choke tube in extra full with federal 3 inch 00 buck. Make sure that you get the shell that has 15 pellets instead of 12. The federal buckshot with 12 pellets has a full length wad and seams to disturb the pattern in both of the m2's that I have. I have 1 with a 26 in. barrel and 1 with a 24 in. barrel. At least this is what I have found to work the best. I hunt near Richmond, Va. and buckshot is all you can use, so I have done a fair amount of testing to get as much range as I can. I love the M2 it always goes boom.

What type of buckshot are we talking? I did hunt in MS behind deer dogs & 00 buck may be O.K. for that. For the most part buckshot is about the last thing I would use on deer. If it's a shotgun I'd go slugs.

I shoot #4 buck out of a Trulock 'precision hunter' in my M2 for predator hunting. It is a .675 or so constriction, between normal full & the tightest of turkey chokes. I also use that choke for turkey hunting. For 00 buck I would try Mod to maybe full. For the smaller buckshot I would go full to a little tighter.

• 2 weeks later...

Buckshot.

I buy and test huge quantities of buckshot across a battery of shotguns ..Benelli, Remington, some Winchester, Mossberg mainly.

It kinda my thing.....or, one of my things anyway...

Best long range tightest patterns...