Which gun should I get.

Deanandtheratpack

I am deciding between a ultralight and a monefeltro? Also 12ga or 20ga? I really like the feel of the UL. I am short so the light weight and 24" barrel feel good. I mainly hunt Pheasants and quail. I have heard people talk about how good they do with their 20ga and I have heard people complain about 20ga. So I am confused please help.:confused::confused:

Welcome, Dean! I don't think you'd be diasppointed with either of those and a 20 gauge would be just fine for most, if not all, upland game birds (remember, turkey is a game bird). I almost always carry a 20 for dove, quail and pheasant but I do have a 12 gauge when waterfowl and turkey seasons roll around. If this is going to be your only shotgun then I would strongly suggest looking at a 12 gauge otherwise, buy both, one in each gauge!

Edited by Mr. Mac

Mac, I know for quail 20 would be fine but pheasant is what I would be concerned with. I say this because I have very little experience pheasant hunting but I plan to get more into it starting next season. I have a good turkey gun (12ga) but it is to heavy to carry in a field all day. What is the story with barrel length? How much does barrel length affect pattern or distance?

Mac, I know for quail 20 would be fine but pheasant is what I would be concerned with. I say this because I have very little experience pheasant hunting but I plan to get more into it starting next season. I have a good turkey gun (12ga) but it is to heavy to carry in a field all day. What is the story with barrel length? How much does barrel length affect pattern or distance?

Almost no differance. Remember most all 20 gauges can use 3 inch shells.