Reloading an R1...

Phoenix

Is there anyone out there reloading an R1? Any helpful hints? I am using RCBS equipment and trying to load the 300 Win Mag. On top of my ignorance I am new to reloading in general. Should I use a crimp? What is a good bullet? Load? Any info will most likely help me.

• 3 years later...

I too would like to get some info on reloading for an R1 (30-06). I am new to reloading and originally thought I would only reload for a 7MM Rem Mag (bolt) but now I am privileged to need to reload for a 30-06 R1 as well.

How do I reload for a semi-auto as opposed to a bolt?

I read somewhere, can't find the post now, that there is a die that is preferred for the R1 (I have the impression it is not a neck and not a full length but something in between). Anyone able to verify that fact?

The R1 has a 1-11 twist on the .300, is that correct for all calibers? If so, does that mean use flat bottom bullets? As I said, I am new to this, trying to learn before I spend. What is a normal twist, is Benelli more or less than average? How would I check for actual twists (my 7MM is a Ranger Arms - Governor built in 1968, so I want to check it too and there is no manual or data online, plus I read one post that indicated the twist rate of a Benelli R1 .300 is actually 1-11.75 not 1-11 as the book indicates). What difference does this make, the more or less twist rate? What is better? I think, but don't know, that it affects bullet selection, if so, I don't need know the mechanics (would still like to know if anyone can educate) but I do need to know how it affects bullet choice - i.e. more twist means boat tail, less twist means flat bottom or is it vice versa or does it just not matter at all?