Need some help with my Nova Pump!!

wnbf2be

Hey guys,

I have a Nova Pump (best pump shotgun ever by the way). Its got a 28" barrel and its my trusted duck/goose gun.

That said, I have recently taken up deer hunting and have been trying to figure out if I need to buy a dedicated slug barrel for it?

From what I have read around here, it seems like I can shoot slugs through this thing as long as I use the IC choke or better yet, get a rifled choke. Is this correct? If so, thats completely new to me...I thought shooting slugs through a non-rifled barrel was a big no-no????

Pardon my ignorance here. I am a rookie at this particular side of hunting...historically I just shoot at things that fly off the water. ;)

You can certainly use it in its current configuration with slugs.

My old 870 used to shoot 3-4" groups out to 125 yards with a 24" cylinder bore barrel.

The trick is to try different slug loads and find what your Nova likes best.

You will want to shoot slugs designed for a smoothbore through the IC choke. These will be labeled as "rifled slugs".

The projectile itself is rifled but not to make it spin as it flies through the air.

Remington SLugger

slugger_big.jpg

Federal Truball

fedpictruballslugs.jpg

Here is a good article concerning slugs

Edited by tucker301

Thanks for the assistance here, guys. I appreciate it.

If I were to buy a rifled choke tube for the gun, are there any particlar manufactures that make those? Does Benelli? I have not yet searched for one...but it seems like that might be a good investment.

Thanks for posting the pics of the ammo by the way...thats very helpful.

As for the effective ranges...I dont think I will need anything over about 75 yards to be honest. The places we hunt, the deer are up close and personal. Was out last weekend with my bow and had a nice one at less than 20 yars but never got a shot at it. With a slug gun, I would be eating venison right now. ;)