Which choke tube?

Hey guys,

I just bought a Super Nova and plan to shoot federal black cloud loads. Do you have recommendations on what size and with what choke tube would be best for ducks and geese? Is it ok to use the factory choke tubes or should I buy the black cloud one from carlsons?

I am pretty new to waterfowl, so probably won’t be shooting over 40 yards much. Thanks! 

• 1 month later...

I would start with the factory flush modified or improved cylinder.  Benelli barrels are not oversized and in some cases, aftermarket chokes have been known to be off center or cocked thus distorting the point of aim. Or you can do like I did and waist money on an aftermarket choke for my M2, two of them to be exact. 

I edited this and it would let me change the original reply so here is the edited reply. 

I would start with the factory flush modified or improved cylinder.  Benelli barrels are not oversized.  A very tight choke can distort the steel shot patterns. .702 from a Kicks HF Full in my Crio M2 is way too much choke for steel shot in my experience. After 20 yards, my patterns go haywire and in my experience, the Kicks HF F prints way high. I am getting 87%-90% patterns at 35 yards with a Carlson’s Cremator Non-Ported Mid Range (.707) with Winchester XPert Lr now Super X 1-1/4 #2’s and Hevi-Steel 1-1/4 # 4’s. I am clumsy and use an extended choke to protect the muzzle and that’s the only reason. 

In some cases, aftermarket chokes have been known to be off center or cocked thus distorting the point of aim. Be aware this can happen. With a Carlson’s or Trulock, you’re not going to break the bank of the choke doesn’t work out for you.