New Supernova Misfires. Beginner Here

SuperNovaB

I recently bought a benelli supernova for waterfowl hunting. I fired about 80 rounds of rem sport loads through it shooting at clays no problem. Then when I went duck hunting I had several misfires, probably 5 misfires out of 50 shots, 10%. That's terrible for a new gun that is definitely not cheap. The primers of the misfires were dented from the firing pin, and they were from two different boxes of ammo and fired after I reloaded them so i doubt it is the shells. I have noticed that when I close the chamber I can pull the forend back slightly and it moves the bolt assembly maybe a 1/16 " back from the locking mechanism that contacts the shell. I believe this could be the culprit, that extra 1/16 " the pin has to travel before reaching the primer could be enough to stop the pin from setting off the shell.

I should mention that I did not clean the gun before use, as I am new to shotguns. I have now cleaned it but the forend can still be pulled back slightly after locking the chamber, which I believe is the problem. Does anyone know if this is common of the novas and I just have to make a conscious effort never to pull back on the forend once I am loaded and waiting for a shot? That would be pretty disappointing for a high dollar pump shotgun. Since my gun is under warranty I can send it in after the season ends, but if it is standard I would hate to waste my time.

One more thing, the pump is rough as ****. I don't notice it while shooting but when just playing with the gun it really catches bad a little over halfway through the cycle. But that's just annoying and hopefully that will change as it breaks in.