Jump to content

GG&G Bolt Release Problems?


Recommended Posts

I have never heard of any issues, and it comes highly recommended. However, I still feel the need to ask. Other than installation (which I will update you all tomorrow on how that works out for me...), has anyone had a problem with this? I know Duggan did until he lok-tited it (user error, as he admits), but nothing else. Has anyone ever had this thing go TU even after lok-tite or anything?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I installed my GG&G today. It took approximately 10-15 minutes (I un-installed my OEM bolt stop the other day, that is not included in this time-estimate).


I encountered no idiot marks or other significant problem. I was the only person involved in the work. It was straight foreward and simple.


My method was simple--hold the part in-place with the roll-pin already started in the hole. I then threaded an allen-wrench the size of the pin through the part and applied pressure to it, holding the tip of it against the roll-pin. I then hammered the roll in through. I had a minor misalignment with the second hole, which I applied minor pressure to the GG&G bolt-release and then it popped into alignment. I continued with the roll-pin, careful not to hammer it into the path of the bolt track.


I then used red lok-tite after applying gun-scrubber and then alcohol to the small bolt and female threads alike to remove any grease from packing/etc.


It is now installed and I find it very comfortable. Thanks for the recommendation Duggan!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...