Ammo recommendation for Sport II

saxtonram

Hello

I just ordered a used Sport II and am looking for recommendations on a good ammo for skeet, trap and sporting clays. I am new to these sports and have no idea what ammo to start with. I understand the inertia system of the Sport II needs a minimum FPS to cycle reliably.

Thanks

Hello

I just ordered a used Sport II and am looking for recommendations on a good ammo for skeet, trap and sporting clays. I am new to these sports and have no idea what ammo to start with. I understand the inertia system of the Sport II needs a minimum FPS to cycle reliably.

Thanks

I have an M2 which is pretty similar as far as the operating system goes and Federal target/field loads functioned flawlessly for practice. If I remember right those shells are at ~1150-1200 fps. The inertia system has never treated me badly, so I would say as long as the shells are listed as target/field you should be ok.

As far as those sports are concerned a shot of #7 1/2 - 8 does well, ~1 ounce of shot. Faster is better especially for trap.

When you get it shoot some target loads and if they work well you shouldn't have to worry about break-in. If not I would say to shoot some heavier loads and oil heavily to work things out.

Good choice of gun :D

I fired some Win Target(white box, red X I think) that was listed as 1100 or 1150fps, #8 and my Supersport cycled just fine, not a hiccup to be sensed.

I have also fired Win AA, Fed Field & Target, Estate, Win Super X and Rem Gun Club loads. Not a single malfunction at all, have about ~350 rds in it in the last 10 days. I have a couple cases of Fed Gold Medal on order, should be in soon.

Shoot 'em up! Congrats on your Sport II! Now I just gotta go pattern the thing. :eek:

Interesting. I read somewhere that Benelli recommends a minimum of 1200 FPS. That sounded odd to me. I might try some STS light load then (1145). I am looking online for ammo, but the shipping is a killer.