Your opinion needed on M3

tom10011

Hello, folks. I’m planning to purchase my first Benelli. It’s going to be the M3 with the folding stock (pre-ban model, no longer imported to the USA).

I found an M3 with the folding stock at "Guns America" website. If you go to their website and type in "HK Benelli M3 Folder" in the search engine of the website, you'll be able to view the gun. I’d like to know your opinion on this gun.

(This is my first time to post a message here so I cannot post the direct link for the gun. I'm sorry for the inconveniences. )

The M3 is said to be better than Franchi SPAS-12 since it’s faster and lighter, but the price is a little too high ($2395).

Of course, the M3 with the standard stock costs much less (about $1300), but I prefer the model with the folding stock because it’s more agile and easier to carry around.

Here are my questions.

1. When you shoot 9 rounds in a row in 2 seconds, how is the accuracy with the folding stock? Should I opt for the standard stock since it’s far more stable than the folding stock?

2. How does it feel when used with magnum bullets? I suppose that the 18.5-inch barrel is too short for magnum bullets. Is it possible to put a 28-inch barrel on the M3?

3. Do you think it’s worth the price ($2395)? This price is too high for an automatic shotgun, far more expensive than the SPAS-12.

1) - When you shoot 9 rounds in 2 seconds out of ANY semi auto, you're compromising accuracy for speed. The stock doesn't affect this nearly as much as your ammo, shooting stance, weight and recoil system ... that being said, full stocks are generally more comfortable and controllable than collapsible stocks, due to a better cheekweld, more rigidity, and more weight.