need assistance

twatson

Hello All, my name is Tim and my 13 year old son had just ended his first season in a Skeet Club. He broke 2 Rem. 11-87's and since I own a M2 I went out and got a 20 ga. M2 for his skeet. After shooting about 100 rounds the gun malfunctioned and it appears the spring in the plunger recoil housing in the stock broke. Can I fix this my self or do I need to send the gun in. Also, is his skinny stature causing a problem with the gun? I was told by the gun shop the 11-87's didn't work right because he does not have the body mass to support a good foundation for the gun. I responded by saying, then why do they make a youth model? Need advise I known the Benelli is great quality. Did I just get a bad spring or will we continue to have problems until my son puts on more weight? Thanks for any help this has been very frustrating.

im no expert, but i find it hard to believe that a persons weight would have anything to do with it.if its true, that seems to me like a very poor design. i would suggest getting him a franchi AL48 20ga , my 9yr old stepson shoots mine a lot and he only weighs around 70lbs. there are several on http://www.gunbroker.com if you can find an engraved one ,like mine ,youll make him prouder than a peacock. they are beautiful. you should be able to fix yours, but that really depends on how you are at gunsmithing. good luck.

Tim,

Good for you for getting your boy interested in shooting sports. Skeet is a challenging game. I hope he enjoys it and sticks with it. May I recommend the skeet shooting DVD by Todd Bender for some valuable instruction, with some great camera work.

Now, to your problem.

"I was told by the gun shop the 11-87's didn't work right because he does not have the body mass to support a good foundation for the gun."

That's utter nonsense.

The 1187 is a gas operated semi-automatic action. If the gun is operating nominally, it will cycle if you hang it from a string.