Stupid Newbie Question, floating a shell

occomsrazor

Okay, Ive been gleaning info from this forum for a few months. Finally got the M4 after a 7 month wait.

Put the magazine extension on...

Installed the collapsible stock (**** stupid nut :mad: that I was working on very hard to remove until I read a timely post)...

So now I have a 7+1. smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

But, how do I get the 7+1+1 :confused:

Load up your mag tube. Empty shell carrier, empty chamber.

Rack it back, and allow it to come forward enough that the shell carrier pops up. Move the bolt forward a few more milimeters, so that it is beyond the shell carrier pop up point.

Now push the shell carrier down with your finger, while holding the bolt in that position. If you work it right, you can fit a shell, rimmed end first, through the side of the reciever and onto the shell carrier.

Keep the bolt in place to prevent it from popping out.

Once its in, the bolt above it keeps it from coming up. You should still have a few inches left before the bolt closes. Fit a shell into the chamber, and close the bolt.

You've now floated a shell.

Now, for some reason I haven't really looked into yet, it won't load the floated shell like, 1 out of 20 times I'd say. When this happens, after the first shot, the bolt flies back into lockback, and does not come back forward to chamber the floated round. When this happens, you have to just hit the bolt release button, and blast away.

I don't know if this is just me, or the light 9 shot target ammo I've been using, or the position I put my shell in, but it happens once in awhile.

For this reason, if your life is on the line, I wouldn't reccomend floating a shell.

Oh, and I always keep my hand near the bolt release button when floating shells, so I can recover quickly if it does fail to chamber the round I floated.

But most times it works flawlessly.

Maybe someone else will know why this happens, but I'm not sure.