M2 Inertia System -Can I Mount A Light?

mdrums

I've been searching the forums and am confused with trying to find a mount and light for my new M2. My gun store sold me a LaserLyte magazine tube mount to mount a Streamlite TRL1S but this round mount is too small and would not go on the magazine tube. Searching around the internet seems like everything is for the M4.

I read on another forum that due to the inertia system the M2 uses that I shouldn't mount a light to the M2 or even think about adding a magazine extension.

1st post here...this Benelli M2 is my 1st shotgun so I am very new at this. Thanks in advance for any help.

Mike

Hi mdrums and welcome to the forum! Surefire makes some very nice light integrated forearms for the M2

http://www.surefire.com/illumination/weaponlights/shotgun-forend/benellisuper90snabovem104800.html

beyond that the more weight you add (sidesaddles etc) the more the chance you may have cycling issues but as long as you stick to high power loads you can probably get away with the light and an extension. I have an extension on my M1 and have never had an issue

Later,

Hookster :)

A rough guide for adding weight above and beyond a fully loaded weapon for the inertia cycled Benelli bolts is

20 gauge : less than 385 grams and you should be okay

12 gauge: less than 500 grams and you should be okay

These are the approximate weights of the bolts; when the weight added to the gun exceeds the bolt weight, you may begin to experience cycling problems with the inertia system.

A rough guide for adding weight above and beyond a fully loaded weapon for the inertia cycled Benelli bolts is

These are the approximate weights of the bolts; when the weight added to the gun exceeds the bolt weight, you may begin to experience cycling problems with the inertia system.

Hi this is very insightful but I am curious to know where you got this information from. Or is this just from your personal experience? Thanks.

From the Benelli M1 Manual: