R1 .308 accuracy

gjmon

I'm a Newbie to this forum and have been reading your comments concerning R1 accuracy. I just bought one, followed the barrel break-in procedure for the first 10 rounds, then shot 2 successive 3 round groups. The first was a 3/4" group with Remington 150gr Pointed Soft point Core-Lock. The second was with Super X 150gr Power Point.....1/2" grp...all three touching. This is all at 100yds. I have worked my trigger down to a crisp 2lbs 13oz also... Mounted a Burris Fullfield Ballistic Plex 3.5-10X50mm on Weaver Quad Rings..... I'm really liking this rig for quick follow up shooting in the deer woods.....

Technically, my group sizes posted earler were (measured center to center) .780" and .435". I completely disassembled the rifle for cleaning---I am a nut about cleaning---so I will be sure to report any point of impact change with the PowerPoints. The Rem 150gr PSP printed roughly 2" higher and 1/2" left of the PowerPoints during the first grouping session......

Has anyone got any reloading tips for the R1?......I've never reloaded for semi-auto rifles before. Have had good success with 7mm mags, 22-250's, .308, 30-06, 338 Rem Ultra mags but all in my bolt guns.... This is my first auto.. Wouldn't even consider one until I heard about the R1's accuracy potential. (and I've testified to its truth)